<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>Star Watcher par Yang Sutie

Star Watcher by Yang Sutie

Since 2009, the Royal Observatory of Greenwich (London, UK), awards the best photographs of the skies. For the year 2021, the jury members received no less than 4500 photos from photographers from 75 different countries.

The competition has several categories: Aurora, Galaxies, Our Moon, Our Sun, Person and Space, Planets, Comets and Asteroids, Heavens and Stars and Nebulae. In addition to the prize for the best astrophographer of the year, there is also a youth prize.

The final winner will be announced on September 16, 2021 and will walk away with a check for £10,000 (about €11,000) and the winners in each category will receive £1500 (about €1800).

Below are some examples of the photos nominated for the grand prize:

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>Harmony par Stefan Liebermann

Harmony by Stefan Liebermann

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>Alien Throne par Marcin Zajac

Alien Throne by Marcin Zajac

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>California Dreamin' NGC 1499 par Terry Hancock

California Dreamin’ NGC 1499 by Terry Hancock

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>Milky Way rising over Durdle Door par Anthony Sullivan

Milky Way rising over Durdle Door by Anthony Sullivan

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>Iceland Vortex par Larryn Rae

Iceland Vortex by Larryn Rae

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>The Tumult of the Sun par Hassan Hatami

The Tumult of the Sun by Hassan Hatami

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>Star Fall par Wang Zheng

<!–[if IE 9]><!–[if IE 9]>The Magnetic Field of our Active Sun par Andrew McCarthy

The Magnetic Field of our Active Sun par Andrew McCarthy

See also  6000 mAh battery, Helio G88... The Redmi 10 Prime makes its appearance